Employee Spotlight: Bill Helt

Employee Spotlight: Bill Helt

Q & A

Bill Helt – Director – Non Food Operations

Where do you live? Sun Prairie, WI

How long have you worked for Colony Brands? 20 years

Briefly explain your job – what’s the best part? I oversee all of Colony’s non-food fulfillment centers located in Clinton & Peosta, Iowa and Sun Prairie, Wisconsin. The best part of my job is the people. As we all know, our business has very high peaks, and our team is challenged to onboard a great amount of new staff to handle the volumes in these peak periods. Watching our staff successfully train and work with so many new employees each peak season is very rewarding to me.

Who has been your mentor at CB? There are two that come to mind including Jeff Mucks and Rob Hodgson. I have many takeaways from both including the importance of proper planning, monitoring trends and timely follow-up.

 What was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had? During college, I worked at a Rent-to-Own store and did everything from being a salesman to a repo man. Let’s just say there was never a dull moment.

What would you tell a friend who’s interested in working at CB? I would tell them that no matter what department you work in, it’s the people at CB that makes it a great place to work.

What inspires you? Seeing people do good deeds inspires me, even if it’s simple as holding a door open for someone or even a stranger greeting you with a “Good Morning”.

What piece of technology could you not live without? GPS – it makes getting where you need to go that much easier, not to mention quicker.

What is your most overused phrase or word? At times when in a hurry, I use the word “thing” to describe what I want to say without actually referencing it.

What three words would your friends use to describe you? Dependable, competitive, and considerate.

What is on your bucket list? Traveling in general but I eventually want to get to Hawaii, Ireland, and Australia.

Tell us something about yourself that we would be surprised to learn. I enjoy cooking and like to watch cooking shows and experimenting with recipes that I see executed on those shows.

Siblings? I am the youngest of eight. I have two sisters and five brothers.

Married? Married for over 21 years to my wonderful wife, Liz.

Kids? One 16-year-old son, Carter.

Hometown? Grew up in Middleton, WI (home of the Cardinals). Interestingly enough, now in Sun Prairie, where I currently live, we are still home to the Cardinals…

College? Bachelor’s degree at UW Stevens Point and Master’s degree through Cardinal Stritch University.

Favorite TV show? The Blacklist, so many interesting characters and new plots….

Dream vacation? Three weeks in Hawaii

Biggest pet peeve? Tardiness…

Go to food &/or drink? Korbel Old Fashioned sweet with cherries (which covers the food and drink.) 😊

Hobbies? Golf, playing cards, and family trips.

Comments are closed.